University of Bologna (Bologna University)
The University of Bologna (Alma Mater Studiorum – Università di Bologna) offers the Medicine and Surgery program taught in English at its Bologna campus. The program is classified as LM-41, a six-year, 360 ECTS single-cycle medical program. This program should be considered as an English track offered only at the Bologna campus, completely separate from the Italian-language medical programs conducted by the university in Forlì and Ravenna.
When evaluating the Bologna page, not only the IMAT cut-off should be considered; the 2025/2026 Non-EU quota, 2026 IMAT date, band publication schedule, ER.GO scholarship application deadline, tuition/foreign income documentation, YKS-diploma compatibility, and Universitaly/Studenti Online distinction should be considered together.
Useful Information
Program
Medicine and Surgery
Language of instruction
English
Duration
6 years
Degree
LM-41 · Single-cycle Degree (Laurea Magistrale a ciclo unico)
ECTS
360 ECTS
Entrance Exam
IMAT
The most recent data period
2025/2026
Total Quota
150 (2025/2026)
Non-EU joint pool residing in the EU + Italy
130 (2025/2026)
Non-EU quota residing outside Italy
20 (2025/2026)
Latest Non-EU cut-off in the site data
70.3 (2025/2026, position —)
Latest published EU quota / cut-off
130 seats · 60.5 cut-off (2025/2026)
IMAT Date
September 29, 2026
Band Release Date
Until August 31, 2026
ER.GO Scholarship Application Deadline
August 24, 2026, 4:00 PM
First Installment Due Date
September 24, 2026
Tuition Fee
The first installment is €157.04 + the remaining amount varies according to ISEE/foreign income documents
Quota and Non-EU Cut-off Data
| Academic year | EU quota | EU cut-off | Non-EU quota | Non-EU cut-off | Ranking position |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025/2026 | 130 | 60.5 | 20 | 70.3 | — |
| 2024/2025 | 97 | 64.8 | 20 | 74.5 | — |
| 2023/2024 | 97 | 42.6 | 20 | 59.1 | — |
The EU and Non-EU quota/cut-off columns show the official ranking data published in the relevant years. Past cut-off values do not guarantee acceptance for future periods.
The official band (call for applications) of Bologna for 2025/2026 specifies 130 EU/Italy-equivalent and 20 Non-EU quotas.
No separate quota for Marco Polo (Chinese students) has been specified in any official document; therefore, a separate Marco Polo row is not shown in the table. When not specified, these candidates are evaluated within the general structure or the quota is managed outside the standard IMAT English distribution.
The EU/Italy-resident quota (117) for the 2023/2024 and 2024/2025 periods has been verified from the university's official program page. The non-EU quota is consistent for both years with the site's own verified cut-off data (20), and this data has been used in the table.
Cut-off values reflect past years; they do not constitute a guarantee or a target score commitment for the upcoming academic year.
It is not shown on this page because there is no reliable, verified source for the ranking position (the position of the last placed candidate in the ranking).
Program and training structure
The Medicine and Surgery program is a six-year single-cycle Laurea Magistrale a ciclo unico in the LM-41 class and is conducted entirely in English at the Bologna campus; it has a total structure of 360 ECTS/CFU.
This program is a track separate from the Italian medical programs run by the university in Forlì and Ravenna; Medicine and Surgery, conducted in English, is offered only at the Bologna campus.
The clinical internship constitutes approximately 25% of the program.
If a lack of knowledge is detected in the fields of Biology, Chemistry, Physics, or Math as a result of the IMAT, an OFA (Obblighi Formativi Aggiuntivi / additional educational obligation) may be assigned. According to the current Bologna guidelines, this obligation must generally be completed by March 31 of the academic year following the registration year; if it is not completed by this date, the student will have to repeat that year. OFA does not prevent registration or participation in the "Unallocated Places" process.
Tuition Fee
Tuition fee is not a single fixed amount: it consists of a fixed first installment (€157.04) and second/third installments that vary according to the student's family's financial situation.
Turkish/Non-EU students should plan the fee calculation not based on a single yearly figure, but on the ISEE/foreign income document process, Equivalent ISEE preparation, and installment deadlines.
If the required ISEE or foreign income document is not submitted on time, the maximum all-inclusive contribution fee set for the Medicine program will be applied.
In the reviewed sources, there is no special flat-tax or country group system specific to Turkey; fees are evaluated based on individual income documentation.
The exact second/third installment amounts and the full maximum contribution fee amount are not provided on this page until the official tuition regulation of the relevant academic year is confirmed.
2026/2027
The University of Bologna arranges tuition fees through the "Tuition fees and exemptions" (Contributi studenteschi) system. There is a fixed first installment for all students: €157.04, with a payment deadline of September 24, 2026 (unless the program specifies otherwise). The second and third installments are calculated variably according to the economic situation of the student's family. International (Non-EU/Turkish) students must have an "Equivalent ISEE" calculated by presenting translated and legalized documents showing their foreign income. If the student does not submit the required ISEE or foreign income document on time, the "maximum all-inclusive contribution fee" set for the Medicine program is automatically applied. The official sources reviewed do not include a flat-tax / country group system specific to Turkey; fees are managed based on individual foreign income documentation. The exact amounts of the second/third installments and the full maximum contribution fee are not provided on this page; only the fixed first installment and the general mechanism are explained.
Scholarship and dormitory applications
The main scholarship and student rights institution in the Emilia-Romagna region is ER.GO (Regional Agency for the Right to Higher Education of Emilia-Romagna). The ER.GO scholarship is a system separate from the university's tuition calculation; it can include rights such as cash scholarship, accommodation, subsidized catering, and support for international mobility. The scope varies according to the annual call.
The ER.GO application deadline for the 2026/2027 academic year has been announced as August 24, 2026, at 16:00. Accommodation applications/approvals for students starting new single-cycle programs also end on the same date (August 24, 2026, at 16:00).
Critical planning point: The application deadline for ER.GO (August 24, 2026) comes before the IMAT exam date (September 29, 2026). This means that Turkish candidates need to prepare their entry documents (Equivalent ISEE) and complete their applications before knowing whether they have secured a place in the IMAT; this is one of the most important planning warnings on the page.
"Independent student" status is not easily obtained: the candidate must have lived independently, separate from the family, for at least 2 years and must document that they had a declared personal income of at least €9,000 per year for these 2 years. This condition may not apply to the majority of Turkish candidates; the evaluation is generally based on family income.
For documenting family income, the 'Equivalent ISEE' calculated through a recognized institution, translated and legalized, is used.
This information has been presented in order to explain the general operation of the ER.GO scholarship process for the 2026/2027 period; eligibility for the scholarship is not guaranteed and is evaluated separately each academic year according to the conditions of the current call text.
Non-EU application roadmap
- 1
Band (official call for applications) publicationUntil August 31, 2026
The official call for applications (notice) for the 2026/2027 period will be published no later than August 31, 2026. The notice includes the exact quotas, the Universitaly deadline, IMAT registration rules, and the instructions for university enrollment.
- 2
IMAT examSeptember 29, 2026
The IMAT exam for the 2026/2027 intake has been announced by the Italian Ministry of Universities and Research (MUR) as September 29, 2026.
- 3
Do not mix up the processes: band, IMAT, Universitaly, and Studenti Online are separate steps
The publication date of the notice is not the same as the IMAT exam date; the IMAT exam date is also not the same as the enrollment deadline. Pre-enrollment through Universitaly is only a visa/pre-registration step and does not mean definite enrollment in the university; the university will approve this pre-registration only after the candidate passes the IMAT, secures their place, and pays the first installment. Actual university enrollment is done through Studenti Online. As of the date this page was prepared, official dates for the 2026/2027 processes, such as Universitaly pre-enrollment, IMAT registration, ranking publication, and enrollment deadline, have not been officially published; these dates should be additionally followed from the updated notice and MUR/Universitaly announcements.
- 4
Priority for non-EU / visa-required candidates
Non-EU candidates requiring a visa (including Turkey) should follow the Universitaly pre-enrollment portal early during the summer in order to be able to start the visa appointment process on time, despite the late exam date.
Diploma Compatibility and Required Documents
- Documents showing the completion of 12 years of formal education are a mandatory requirement for foreign diplomas.
- A high school diploma should grant the right to access higher education in the country where it is issued — in the context of Turkey, this is related to the YKS process (see the Turkish students section below).
- Declaration of Value (DoV) or CIMEA evaluation — is part of the consulate/recognition process for foreign diplomas.
- Pre-enrollment through Universitaly is mandatory for Non-EU candidates requiring a visa; the university will only approve this pre-enrollment after the candidate passes the IMAT and pays the first installment.
- An official English language certificate is not mandatory — B2 level English proficiency is directly assessed through the IMAT exam (see the English language requirement section below).
- Visa/residence permit documents should be planned along with the Universitaly and consulate process for non-EU candidates, if necessary.
- Foreign income documents (translated/legalized) — are used for both tuition fee calculation and ER.GO scholarship application.
Official Communication and Application Channels
Studenti Online: General student administrative procedures and registration system.
Medicine and Surgery Program Contacts Page: The contact and announcement page specific to the program.
Student Contribution Office (Ufficio Contribuzioni Studentesche): Contact unit for tuition and contribution fee questions (ases.dirigente@unibo.it).
Note: Email addresses related to the international acceptance process are accessible through the unibo.it internal ticket/helpdesk system for registered users.
Important considerations
- The non-EU quota is limited (20 people for 2025/2026); the level of competition may be high.
- The ER.GO scholarship application deadline comes before the IMAT exam; supporting documents need to be prepared early.
- Tuition fee is not a fixed amount; it consists of a fixed first installment + variable second/third installments.
- Bando, IMAT, Universitaly, and Studenti Online are different processes; candidates are recommended to follow these calendars separately.
- For the 2026/2027 period, the full quota, IMAT registration window (26 August–9 September 2026, 15:00 GMT+2), Universitaly/pre-enrollment, ranking/enrollment dates, and the exact maximum fee amount will be additionally confirmed when the official notice is published.
- Candidates who want to make a comparison among state universities with similar intake capacities can also check the pages of University of Padua and University of Pavia.
Assessment for Turkish students
Editorial evaluation
Bologna's Non-EU quota is strictly limited (20 people for 2025/2026); this increases competition for the Non-EU ranking of IMAT. This ranking is conducted locally by the university, unlike the national EU scrolling system.
For candidates applying from Turkey, the issue is not only the IMAT score. The Italian Ministry of Universities and Research (MUR) requires that a foreign high school diploma provides access to higher education in the country where it was issued; in the context of Turkey, this is related to the YKS process. Turkish candidates need to plan the eligibility of their diploma for the Declaration of Value (DoV) or CIMEA evaluation together with the YKS process.
The Universitaly application is only a visa prerequisite, not a confirmed university application. Turkish candidates must pass the IMAT, secure their place in the local Bologna ranking, and then officially enroll through Studenti Online.
The ER.GO scholarship application deadline (August 24, 2026) comes before the IMAT exam date (September 29, 2026). Therefore, Turkish candidates should prepare and legalize their family income documents (Equivalent ISEE) before knowing whether they have secured a place in IMAT; this is one of the most critical planning points on the page.
An official English certificate is not mandatory for initial registration; B2 level is evaluated through IMAT. However, candidates who have an official certificate and declare it during exam registration may gain a tie-break advantage in case of equal scores.
The cut-off assessment on this page is based on the current site data (2023/2024: 59.1; 2024/2025: 74.5; 2025/2026: 70.3); the ranking position is not shown as it has not been verified with a reliable source.
Bologna's income-based, ISEE/Equivalent ISEE-based fee logic is fundamentally different from the fixed low fee structure of southern Italian universities such as University of Naples Federico II; these two systems should not be confused with each other.
Frequently asked questions
Is Bologna Medicine and Surgery in English?
Yes. The Medicine and Surgery program in the LM-41 class is conducted entirely in English at the Bologna campus. This is a track completely separate from the university's Italian-language medical programs in Forlì and Ravenna.
What is the 2025/2026 non-EU quota?
According to the official band, the Non-EU quota for 2025/2026 is 20 people; the EU/Italy-equivalent quota is 130 people. A separate quota for Marco Polo is not specified in the official document.
When is the IMAT date for Bologna?
MUR has announced that the IMAT exam for the 2026/2027 intake will be held on September 29, 2026.
When will the band be published?
The official call for applications (banner) for the 2026/2027 period will be published no later than August 31, 2026; the exact quotas, the Universitaly deadline, and registration instructions will be included in this document.
When is the ER.GO scholarship application?
The deadline for ER.GO scholarship applications for the 2026/2027 period is August 24, 2026, at 16:00. This date comes before the IMAT exam date; therefore, income documents should be prepared early.
What is the difference between Universitaly and Studenti Online?
Universitaly is a national pre-enrollment portal for Non-EU candidates who require a visa; the university only approves this pre-enrollment after the candidate passes the IMAT and pays the first installment. The actual university enrollment is done through Studenti Online.
Is an English certificate required in Bologna?
No, an official English certificate is not mandatory for the initial registration; B2 level English proficiency is directly assessed through the IMAT exam. However, candidates who have an official certificate can declare it during exam registration, which may provide a tie-break advantage in the case of equal scores.
Is YKS important for Bologna?
Yes. Italian legislation requires that a foreign high school diploma grant the right to access higher education in the country where it was issued; in the context of Turkey, this is fundamentally related to the YKS process. Bologna itself does not directly mention the name 'YKS', but the diploma's eligibility is examined according to this general rule through the DoV/CIMEA assessment.
How are fees calculated in Bologna?
It consists of a fixed first installment (€157.04) and second/third installments that vary according to the student's family's financial situation. If the foreign income document (Equivalent ISEE) is not submitted on time, the maximum contribution fee determined for the Medicine program will be applied.
Is the ER.GO scholarship applied for before IMAT?
Yes, and this is a crucial planning point for Turkish candidates: the ER.GO application deadline (August 24, 2026) comes before the IMAT exam (September 29, 2026). Candidates must prepare their documents and complete their applications without knowing whether they have secured a place in the IMAT.
This guide is based on the University of Bologna, MUR/IMAT announcement, and ER.GO resources. For 2026/2027, the dates for Universitaly pre-enrollment, IMAT registration, ranking publication, and enrollment deadlines will be updated separately when the official notice is published.
Assess your University of Bologna goal with a free mock test.
Measure your current level with a free IMAT mock test and plan your target university strategy using data.